Tags

,

I really like to craft.

I learned how to sew when I was pretty young from my mom and grandmothers. I also like to bead and plan on sharing some of those projects in the future here when I talk about my Sabbat necklaces and ritual stole.

In the last couple of years I started knitting and crocheting. My mom tried to teach me to knit when I was a kid but I’m left handed and just really couldn’t get the hang of it. Then I asked my friend Leeann for a refresher course after learning she knit and this time I picked it up. I think it ‘took’ a little easier this time around because I’ve become a little more ambidextrous. And apparently I knit right handed.

Youtube is a beautiful thing sometimes. I got a bug up my butt late one night and decided that I wanted to learn to crochet. So I hit the youtube search of the perfect tutorial and the rest is history. I really like crocheting a great deal and thought I’d share some of the more ‘craft’y projects I’ve made lately.

IMG_20131219_1957481

Here is a picture of some Yule presents I made for my coven sisters. I found the pattern on Pinterest here when I was looking for Witch and Wicca inspired projects and fell in love. The pentacles are crochet in the filet style which is really easy once you get used to using the thin thread. The frames are 8x10s so the pentacles aren’t large and therefore didn’t really take long to make. I made them from a size 10 crochet thread and a 1.65mm hook. I haven’t made one for myself yet but I’d like to!

IMG_20140202_222847

This is another Pinterest find that I’ve had for a while but only recently made. Again, this project was very straightforward and went together so much easier than I thought it would. The trivet/potholder is pretty big (measuring about 12 inches at the widest part) but I used a bulkier, size 4 yarn, so I think if I used something thinner, like Caron’s Simply Soft, it would turn out smaller. I also want to try this pattern in thread to see what it looks like.

I’m eager to hear what you think of these two projects. Are they something you would like to try yourself? I have so many projects I want to try on my ‘Craft Ideas’ board on Pinterest so feel free to check them out.

BB

