Tags

,

Hey there!

I know it’s been a while since I posted. Life got a little busy there for a while and it took me an even longer time to regulate things back out. So I thought what I would do is come back with a ‘Top 5’ list to get myself back into the groove. Now, just to prepare you… you’re going to see more than one book by the same author on this list and there’s a reason for that. He’s an icon, for me at least, in the world of correspondence reference material. I haven’t seen anyone really try to do books like Scott Cunningham and if you know of someone please leave a comment so I can check them out!

Here we go!

Encyclopedia-of-Magical-Herbs1. Cunningham’s Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs by Scott Cunningham
This book is copyrighted 1985!! Can you believe it? I was totally surprised but shouldn’t be. I really can’t say how often I’ve referenced this book over the years. I remember being really excited when the new addition came out and made sure to donate my original copy to the Dianic group I was studying with at the time. Anything you want to know about using herbs in magic is in this book.
I like Cunningham’s set up of his books the best. If I have a question about a plant I can look it up alphabetically and the book with give me parts of the plant to use and what to use it for. It will also list Latin names, gender and a history of the plant. It’s just so handy!!!

tumblr_m17h0yzxTi1r90xaoo1_4002. Cunningham’s Encyclopedia of Crystal, Gem & Metal Magic by Scott Cunningham
This was the first correspondence book I ever had and its every bit as easy to use as the Magical Herb book. Again, stones are listed alphabetically and have the same information set up I talked about earlier in the plant book.
Another great thing that Cunningham did was to create a table section in each of his books that allow the reader to look for stones for a particular use. For example, if I wanted to find a stone that would help in my dream work I have to do is go to that section and look it up!
One additional nice part to the edition of this book that I like is there is a section in the center with color pictures. Stones can be hard to identify so there’s a few there to help with that.

wwbksmag0063. The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews by Scott Cunningham
Sensing a trend yet? I like to pair this book with Magical Aromatherapy, another Cunningham book he wrote with Robert Tisserand. I don’t play too much with making my own incense but it’s nice to have these books to reference what I can use pre-made incense and oils for.
Same set up as the other two books I’ve mentioned and it’s probably a good thing to note that the Aromatherapy book I have is paperback size so it’s nice and small to throw in a bag.

9781567181678_p0_v1_s260x4204. Moon Magick: Myth & Magic, Crafts & Recipes, Ritual & Spells by D.J.Conway
Finding this book was a true gem for me. I remember working on full moon rituals for a class I was taking and finding good reference material was really tough. Unfortunately for me, I found this book after all that but the revelation of everything it contained was so not lost on me! I think the title really says it all. Crafts, recipes, rituals and spells for using the moon in her different phases… oh man, what are you waiting for… go find it if you don’t have it already!!!

8da2e3cf70c3eeb389f266ac75e0ab385. Animal Speak: The Spiritual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great and Small by Ted Andrews
Any shamanic student is going to find this book so completely necessary. Anyone working with animal spirits or wondering why they are constantly hounded by bees with find this book valuable. Honestly, I have books with sections that cover animal spirits and while they are good introductions to the subject, they are nothing like the extensive information that Andrews has put together. Hands down, the best animal book on the market.

Okay, that’s it. I hope you find this list helpful if you are looking to build your Wiccan library. All of these books are available for purchase on Amazon and if you click the cover art it will take you right to the page to do so. I also want to mention that while online shopping is really convenient, I would also ask that you not forget your local bookstore or new age shop. Often they can special order books they may not have in stock and it help to keep them open so you can buy your other craft supplies there as well.

Lastly, I would love to hear from you if you have a reference book you think should be on this list. Please leave a comment below and until next time remember that your spiritual path is yours alone and only you can walk it.

BB

