Tags

faithsymbols Recently I’ve been feeling nostalgic and re-watching some films by one of my favorite writer/directors, Kevin Smith. In revisiting his work I know that I will more often than not get a good chuckle when watching the exploits of Jay and Silent Bob or listening to one Dante or Randall’s numerous rants in the Clerks films. What I didn’t remember was a profound quote from a retired muse character in the movie Dogma.

Now for those of you who haven’t seen this movie let me give you a brief recap. Ben Affleck and Matt Damon play two angels who’ve been cast out of heaven and forced to live in Middle America. The leaders of the Catholic Church create a loophole that will allow the two angels reentry into heaven if they simply walk through a re-consecrated doorway of a church in New Jersey. But things are never that simple, because if they do manage to carry out their plan they will prove God to not be infallible and therefore negate all life as we know it. The Last Scion is dispatched to stop them and along the way she comes into contact with some rather interesting representatives from heaven, including Alan Rickman as the archangel Metatron and Chris Rock as the Rufus, the 13th Apostle.

She also meets Serendipity, a muse played by Selma Hayek who has turned in her resignation so that she could come to earth in the hopes of writing her own stories instead of inspiring others to do so. Our heroes find her working as a stripper in a rundown little club because writer’s block has kept her from putting even one word on paper. Serendipity is talking to the Last Scion and Rufus about religion and Catholicism and when asked what the right religion was she relied:

“It’s not about whose right or wrong. No denomination’s nailed it yet because they’re all to self righteous to realize that it doesn’t matter what you have faith in – just that you have faith.”

As soon as those words left her mouth I was struck by the truth infused in them. As I witch, I daily think about my faith and my relationships with my spirit allies. I think about the comfort and joy I feel in the truths that I know and the person I’ve become since walking this path. The feeling of contentment I have is what I wish everyone had. I feel that faith is our greatest gift and I’ve talked before about how it’s something that is so personal. I truly wish that we could honor the beliefs that each of us have without judgement. Without saying ‘my way is right, yours isn’t’. The important thing is that we have faith and celebrate the having of faith with our neighbors.

I really hope that this post inspires you in whatever way is right for you. I’d love to hear about what faith means in your life and maybe we can have a healthy dialog about it, so please comment.

Have a wonderful day and thank you for looking into the heart of this witch’s path. BB

