Tags

, ,

I’ve been taking my third year of study with Christopher Penczak’s Temple of Witchcraft and part of that year requires students to choose a shamanic pantheon to research for the year. I selected the Slavic Pantheon because it’s believed that is where shamanism started. I thought it would be fun to share some of the information I’ve put together as an extra post each week, thus the ABC’s. I will pick the most interesting Gods, Goddesses and supernatural creatures of the Slavs and sharing them here.

Let’s begin with A…

alkonostAlkonost was sne of three prophetic birds of Russian folklore, alongside Gamayun and Sirin. She is said to live in the land of Iria, the old Slavic paradise located in the Underworld, thus giving her the name Bird of Paradise.

She’s said to have a beautiful voice and if one were to hear her sing they would loose all their memories and never want to know anything else again.

She lays her eggs on a beach then rolls them out to sea where they incubate for seven days. After the eggs hatch there is a terrible thunderstorm that is so fierce the sea becomes impassible.

That’s what I’ve found so far. Feel free to add anything in the comments that I’ve left out. BB

