Tags

, , , ,

odin-huginn-muninn

This year I decided that I wanted to study and use my set of runes more. Runes are a subject that I definitely want to get into more here on the blog, but it will have to be later, as my studies progress. I will say that I’ve recently purchased “Taking Up the Runes” by Diana Paxson to use for this study after a presenter suggested it at this year’s ConVocation.

takinguptherunes

What I wanted to talk about today was my experiences since making my decision to learn more about the runes. I have been in contact with the head of the Norse pantheon, Odin Father, as I know him. I’m really grateful to him for two reasons. One, because he has agreed to help me learn about the Runes, which I feel is a great honor since he is the one responsible for bringing them to us. But I’m also grateful to him because he has also agreed to fill a spot in my practice that I’ve never had before. He agreed to become my patron god and I’m excited to add him to my arsenal of allies.

I was a bit nervous of Odin Father at first. What I remembered of him from a high school mythology class was his harshness, but through my experiences with him so far in meditation I’ve come to learn a different side of him. That of wise wanderer who has a deep, rich voice that helps me to see truth.

I believe that you have to learn as much as you can about any spiritual ally, so that’s what I’ve been doing with Odin Father. I thought I’d share some of my interesting findings.

First off, Odin Father is known by many names. To the ancient Teutons, he was Woden or Wodan. Another of his names is Óski, which means “The Granter of Wishes”, to remind us of his generosity. Aldingautr means “the original sacrifice” and is a name he has because of the sacrifice he made of himself to gain the runes. In total he has over 235 names and titles.

I love that Odin Father is looked at as having a triple aspect. He is seen as a wanderer, a warlord and a wiseman.

He is known as being a guide for the dead, which seems to be perfect for him since he himself died on the World Tree, Yggdrasil, and came back to life with the runes.

With his brothers, Vili and Ve, Odin Father created the first man (named Ask) and woman (named Embla) from the trunks of an ash and elm tree that washed up on the shore of a lank mass that they had just risen from a primordial sea.

The Valknot is Odin Father’s symbol. Its three entwined triangles represent many things, including the knot around the hanged man’s neck, the three vertical levels of the nine worlds, and the inter-penetration of all the realms of being by one another.

valknut

This is just the beginning on what I hope to learn about and from Odin Father. I am grateful to him for wanting to work with me. I’ll keep you updated as my time with him expands, but in the meantime I’d love to hear from you about any gods that you make work with. Do you have a Patron god? If so, who is it? What is your relationship like? How have you changed since working with him?

BB

