Tags

, ,

What a wonderful Lammas weekend! I was able to attend a wonderful ritual with Sacred Birch Society, which was lead by my good friend Crystal. It was really nice to not have to worry about any of the details surrounding a ritual and just experience it. For those interested, Sacred Birch Society is a Wiccan organization based in the Flint, Michigan area and you can see more information about them by going to their yahoo group here.

Anyway, on with this weeks post. I’ve been doing a great deal of thinking lately about inspiration and my practice so I thought I would share some thoughts that have been going through my head in the last few weeks.

For those of you who don’t know me well, I am an Aries. I am a perfect Aries in every way, ‘good’ and ‘bad’. I am fiery. I have lots of great ideas. I am passionate. I get distracted. I have a hard time finishing things. Sometimes I need constant reinforcement to keep my drive moving forward and that’s why I sometimes get diverted off course. I’ve been working on changing my habits to hopefully get better at it and I think I’m making some changes. Here are the top 5 things that keep me inspired:

5. Daily Practice
A daily practice is something that has come about through my Temple of Witchcraft training. It’s one of the fundamental things that Christopher Penczak establishes during your first year. I journal. I meditate. I spend time at my various altars throughout the house. I work magick daily. I think like a magickal person. I approach things in a magickal way. Doing things like burning incense as an offering to my spirit guides is an act of inspiration because I maintain my connection with them.

4. Planner
The next thing that has helped is incorporating a planner into my daily life. It was a struggle to find a system that worked for me and I did loads of research before settling on one. I wanted something that would serve as one place to put all the information I needed to remember in my life. Appointments, birthdays, Coven meetings, class work due dates and stuff like that. I also wanted to have a place where I could track water intake and other health things because I’m really trying to loss weight, which is a whole other topic I won’t go into here. Most importantly, I wanted to be inspired.

20150729_104308
What I’m using right now is the Inner Guide 2015 Planner. I found it on Amazon and I will link it here if anyone is interested. I think I will repurchase it for 2016 as well. The planner is a subject of another post if there’s interest. Please comment below if you’d like to know more.

3. Classmates
Another source of inspiration for me has come from my Temple of Witchcraft classmates in my Witchcraft 4 class. I feel like I am more in touch with them this year than I have been in any other year and I really think that helps me to focus on my class work. I’ve become friends with many of them on Facebook so I have a connection with them there. I see/read/interact with their postings on our class group. I have a constant reminder of their presence in my life and for me, that’s huge.

2. YouTube

Another place where I’ve found inspiration is on YouTube. I’ve been posting the podcast there that I do with Cathy from the start and I’m somewhat of a YouTube junkie. I’ve found a couple of ladies there that have really great channels with really great information. I want to give LadyGraveDancer and Ember HoneyRaven a special shout out for making videos that keep me coming back, because I’m a visual person who is busy. If I can get some quality information that I can listen to while I’m doing something else, I’m all in! This connection helps me to keep my daily practice in the forefront of my mind.

1. My Coven
Lastly and most importantly, I am forever inspired by my coven. These women are an important foundation in my life and I know I would be a sorely lacking person without them. We’ve all been going through some perils in the road of life in recent weeks. From our own personal health to some health issues and surgeries with our children. Through it all, the biggest thing that I know I can do for them was to provide healing energy as well as be their support. They give me the focus of our combined strength. The Goddess has blessed me with them in my life.

I’d love to know what inspires you. Whether it’s a book, a speaker, someone in your life. Leave a comment and have a wonderful day.

BB

