Tags

, ,

My coven sister, Cathy, and I prefer to wear jewelry made from natural stones and other earthly materials, like coral and silver. It was difficult to find that type of jewelry in styles we liked, so we started to make our own instead. It was a great hobby for us because not only did it give us something to do together, but also it is a fun way to let out your creativity.

As our studies in Wicca broadened and we learned more and more about Correspondences, we thought it would help to focus our intent during Sabbat rituals to create necklaces that were filled with meaning for that particular spoke in the Wheel of the Year. We researched the stones, colors and symbols associated with each of the eight Sabbats. Then, armed with our list, we set out on a yearlong journey to produce what I believe are beautiful pieces of art. I thought I’d share mine with you in today’s post, as well as how I store them.

We began with Litha:

Litha necklace
Midsummer is the height of the Sun God’s power so carnelian, citrine and the colors yellow, orange and red are appropriate correspondences for this Sabbat. Tammuz, Lugh, Ra, Vivian, Ishtar and Frigga are deities associated with the holiday.
I used roughly cut and polished pieces of carnelian and round beads made from horn, as well as silver and glass beads to create this necklace. I found the citrine and carnelian pendant at a witchy shop that I don’t think is in business any longer. You’ll find that I tend to like my necklaces longer, so this slips over my head nicely.

Lammas:

Lammas necklace
The colors associated with the first harvest of Lammas are similar to those of Litha with the addition of gold, copper and bronze. Tiger-eye, moss agate and marble are among the appropriate stones for the Sabbat. The god Lugh and goddess Demeter are among the deities.
For this necklace I decided to use a pendant of the Greenman because I wanted a god representation and it was the closest to an agricultural one I could find. I also used tiger-eye and more of the horn beads I also used for Litha, as well as some really pretty rose-like silver accent beads.

Mabon:

Mabon necklace
Mabon’s colors continue the theme of the previous Sabbats. Reds, oranges, browns along with aventurine, clear quartz, peridot, yellow topaz and amber are all perfect colors and stones to use for a project like this. Turkey, wolf and cornucopia are great symbols of the Second Harvest and a few of the Gods and Goddesses associated with the holiday are Epona, the Morrigan, Mabon and John Barleycorn.
For my necklace I used red jasper and clear quartz along with other appropriate colored glass beads. For the pendant, I had the beautiful wolf head with amber setting that was a gift from a friend that was perfect.

Samhain:

Samhain necklace
As the last harvest of the year, Samhain marks so many important aspects for witches. Obsidian, smokey quartz, amber and steel are natural stones for the holiday and the colors are black, red and orange. The Crone, Hecate, Cerridwen are goddesses for the day and Cernnunos, Hades and Osiris are the gods.
I like to put purple into the mix for this time of year as well so that’s why I included the glass beads you see in my necklace. I actually don’t have any natural stones in this one because I found these really interesting black beads that reminded me a great deal of the Willendorf Goddess. Can you see what I’m talking about in the picture? The pendant is Cerridwen and I love it.

Yule:

Yule necklace
As expected, red, green and white are all perfect colors for the time of the year when the Sun King is born. Clear quartz, garnet, alexandrite, green tourmaline and blue topaz are great stones. Mistletoe, stags and bears are symbols to use and as for deities, Freya, Skadhu, Odin and Apollo are applicable.
I used a couple of green stones for this necklace, peridot and serpentine, which aren’t on the list, but I used them because of their green color. I also found the silver star beads that reminded me of a baby face. The pendant isn’t any of the Goddesses of the holiday, but the cup she is holding made me think she was gifting something to someone.

Imbolc:

Imbolc necklace
Bloodstone, hematite and turquoise are some of the stones associated with Imbolc. Colors are white, orance red and yellow. Bridget, Venus and Diana are some of the goddesses, while Pan, Wros and Adonis are some of the gods.
Brid’s Day is special to me because of Bridget being my patron goddess so I wanted this necklace to be different, that’s why you can see that it’s a great deal shorter than the others I have. I used turquoise beads and a Brid’s Cross looking pendant for this one.

Ostara:

Ostara necklace
Because it’s in the spring, I think that amethyst, bloodstone and rose quartz are all really great stones to use for this Sabbat as well as the colors green and yellow. Any maiden aspect archetype goddesses like Astarte and Persephone are linked with the day and the gods are Ares, Dionysus or the Green Man.
I used bloodstone and red jasper for this necklace and made it double stranded. Dragon’s are among the symbols for the holiday and I had this really neat one that I’d named Thorin. This is one of my favorite necklaces that I’ve ever made.

Beltain:

Beltain necklace
And finally Beltain… stones you can use are malachite, rose quartz and emerald. Colors are red, white, brown pink and green. Aphrodite, Artemis, Bast, Pan Ball, and Frey are deities that go with the day.
I love malachite as a stone and when I found the tree pendant with malachite in it I knew it was perfect. This is another of my favorites.

You probably noticed the little bags in each of the pictures with their necklaces. That was something else that Cathy and I created and we used ‘fat-quarters’ from Joann’s to make them. We tried to pick colors and prints that also went along with the Sabbat correspondences and I’ve found that they help me to keep which necklace goes with which holiday. They were pretty each to make so let me know if you’d be interested in a future tutorial entry on how we did it.

IMG_3968
Now for what I use to house the bags in! Craft stores like Joann’s and Michael’s carry bare wood items like boxes here <hyperlink to Michael’s page>. Cathy and I used these are the basis for our Sabbat necklace jewelry boxes. And we used the elemental colors as a pallet to paint them, along with our coven logo. Again, this was a pretty easy project and I’d be happy to do a tutorial if you’re interested!

box03
There you have it. I’m really proud of the work that Cathy and I put into making our sets of Sabbat necklaces. It was a bonding time for us and it’s an idea that we’ve shared with new coven members as they join us and we’ve helped them to make their own. The cool thing about a project like this is that you don’t have to limit yourself to wearing the necklaces for Sabbat rituals only if you don’t want to. It’s a personal preference.

Now I have to ask… do you have Sabbat necklaces or something like them? Is this a project that you’ve been inspired to do for yourself? If so, go ahead and comment. I’d love to hear from you and let me know if you’re interested in any tutorials!

As always, thank you for your time and thank you for walking a little on my path with me. BB

