Tags

, ,

I know that my presence here on the blog and on my YouTube channel has been pretty sparse the last couple of weeks and that’s because I’ve been sick with a really nasty version of the crud. I didn’t even make it to my family Thanksgiving, that’s how sick I was. Thankfully I’m feeling better now and I’m trying to get caught up on things!!! I want to warn you, this post might seem a bit scattered and to a degree it is. I’ve been troubled by/thinking about many things recently and I’m hoping that by getting down some of my thoughts I can get some clarity and maybe you will share some of your thoughts too.

In the last year or so, mainly since we went cruelty free and started recycling, I’ve been really thinking more and more about the state of things in the world around me and what I can do, if anything, to change it. Let me be up front, it’s not that I have never had these kinds of thoughts in the past, but there is something about this point in my life that makes me feel these concerns more. Maybe it’s where I am in my magickal practice, maybe it’s my age, maybe it’s both these reasons and much more.

What I am talking about are societal issues that aren’t going to change in a day or with a twitch of my Bewitched nose, so let’s be real about that. The news is constantly being flooded with stories of ISIS attacks in the Middle East and mass shootings here in America. We are also being reminded of the effects of global warming and what it’s doing to the planet. Carbon levels are on the rise and the Polar Caps are melting. And for me specifically, I’ve become mindful of the cruelties that are happening in industries that I never linked them with. Yes, I’m talking about testing on animals in the cosmetics and other health and beauty industries, but I’ve come into contact with some documentaries lately that have shed light on cruelties and conservation threats in other areas that have really shocked me.

9166VerFeEL._SL1500_

There are two documentaries in particular that have recently effected how I look at what I’m doing and what I’m willing to put my money into. Blackfish is a 2013 documentary dealing with the life of Tilikum, a Killer Whale owned by SeaWorld for the last 20-30 years who has been involved in the deaths of three people. It talks about what some are calling a ‘psychosis’ that exists in all whales in captivity and how it may have effected this male whale in particular.

Watching this documentary has started me thinking about wild animals in captivity and now I’m questioning how responsible zoos and other research facilities are. I haven’t been a fan of circuses for a long time and I can’t even tell you when the last time was that I even attended one. I feel that owning exotic animals (like monkeys and big cats) is appalling. I understand that some zoo facilities are helping to keep some endangered species present in the world because their habitats are disappearing. I guess a question I have is, are zoos still taking animals from the wild or are their breeding programs producing them? Is there legislation in place for such things and if so how does it regulate?

cowspiracy

When I first saw that Cowspiracy (2014) was available on Netflix I read the description of its subject matter and I became very uncomfortable. Becoming a vegetarian or a vegan is something that has been tugging on my consciousness for some time but for some reason the thought of it scared me. I’m starting to realize that part of my hesitancy is societal programming. I grew up in a meat and potato family. Dinner consisted of a meat of some kind as the main portion of the meal that was accompanied by a vegetable of some kind. That is how I am wired and now I’m starting to look at breaking down that programming so that I can do two things. One, become a healthier individual and two, help to contribute to a healthier world. I highly recommend this documentary to everyone.

So… what can I do… well, I think the most important thing to do is to continue to learn more about these subjects that trouble me. Knowledge is power and you can’t hope to make a decision or have an opinion without it, must less react in a responsible way. I can’t continue to turn a blind eye to subjects that are uncomfortable or scary. That’s not how change happens.

Not that it was going to happen anytime soon, but I don’t think I will ever visit any Sea World park. I also think I want to learn more about the practices of my local zoos as well. Where I live there are 3 different sizeable zoos and before I pay the price for admission I want to know what their procedures are in terms of how they obtain their animals. I think that animals deserve to be in their natural habitats and would really love to have discussion with someone more knowledgeable in this area than myself to understand more.

I am going to go vegetarian, if not vegan. The numbers presented in the Cowspiracy documentary were just mind blowing for me. I’ve even spent time looking into other resources to validate the information being presented and it seems like this one is legit. I would be interested to know where venison or other hunted game falls into these numbers.

*****One thing to be aware of when watching documentaries, make sure to do your own research. Don’t gobble down what you’re being spoon-fed because the information could be spun to make you feel the way the documentarians what you to feel. Be responsible with your thoughts.*****

I got a little sidetracked in my ramblings and didn’t come back to ISIS and mass shootings so I think I will wait and talk about some magickal ideas I have concerning these topics in future posts.

Wow, I feel better in a way. I still have some things that I didn’t get down, but I really wanted to get this entry posted and I know I can come back as ideas solidify more. Thanks for sticking with me and I hope if you have any thoughts or questions that you ask. I feel like what I’ve talked about in this post is just the beginning for me and I want to know more to that I can form a responsible opinion. So please comment and thanks for walking a while with me!

BB

