Tags

, , ,

the_crow_and_the_moon_tattoo_desing_by_panadamation10-d58ghe2

I had a great Full Moon weekend! I made a pledge with myself at the beginning of the year that I wanted to observe the moon cycles more and January’s Full Wolf Moon was a great one!
Members of my coven are a little spread out and when you couple that with a late night ritual, it’s really hard for all of us to get together. We’ve used Skype or speakerphone calls in the past (ahhh, the wonders of modern technology!) to include one of us that was sick and couldn’t attend coven gatherings, so we decided to apply the same idea to moon rituals.
All of us made sure we had Skype on phones or computers in preparation for the ritual so we could all celebrate together. I was completely thrilled when I found out that Cornflower Moon had decided to come to my house to celebrate there! Yea!!!! It was a lovely ritual.
Now, I know that there may be some of you out there that think what we’ve done isn’t a good idea and I can see your point of view. When you cast a circle you are taking yourself out of space and time in an effort to connect with the Divine for your chosen purpose. However, for us, we choose as a coven to be as inclusive as possible when it comes to our turning of the wheel celebration. We are sisters (and brothers) and we feel blessed that we have the chance to have all of us together, even if it’s not physically the same location.

20160124_160718.jpg
I also took the opportunity to make full moon water and to recharge all of my stones, both jewelry and loose stones. I don’t do this often enough, so this practice is also part of my moon cycle recognition pledge for the year. I collected everything and did a nice cleaning in water (if applicable, never get Selenite wet!) or energetically (I didn’t want to get my necklaces wet). I then set them out on my dining room table where they would get lots of moonlight.

to-go-viking-212x300
In other happenings… I watched the most amazing documentary yesterday! It’s called “To Go Viking” and follows a group modern day men from Texas who spend a majority of their time training to fight the way Vikings did during the late 8th to 11th centuries. They use live steel and period appropriate armor and travel both to local events, like renaissance faires and educational camps, as well as larger ones in Europe where they fight with other men and women from many countries.
This 2015 documentary just blew my socks off. One man featured in the film felt that it was his calling to dedicate himself to the craft of being the best modern Viking he could. So much so that he quit is 9 to 5 job so that he could train more, putting himself in the best physical shape to fight as possible. He made the choice to live simpler and to make money by learning how to make leather goods to sell to others who, like him, had made similar decisions.
One thing I wished this documentary would have touched on was whether or not these folks, because some women were featured as well, followed the Heathen or Norse paths. I can see where they might have, but no one talked about it more than what it meant to live like a Viking. Parts of the documentary were shot in Poland and there were men from there that talked about one of the Slavic Pantheon gods I’ve highlighted on my ABC’s posts.

5broom

I highly recommend this documentary. This isn’t a formal review, but I easily give it a 5 out of 5 brooms. I found it on Amazon Prime and I checked, but it’s not available right now on Netflix. If you want to know more about the film I will post links below to the official imdb page and to the Facebook page.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4379236/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

https://www.facebook.com/To-Go-Viking-146609682083509/

Heart of the Witchs Path YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNFiMg7JNvy2wIywW-OEAHw

