Tags

,

I’m really trying to make 2016 a year where I control by spending, but there are some things that I am interested in purchasing. Here’s a list of 5 books that I’ve heard about in recent months that I’m interested in purchasing. I will include a link to each of these books on Amazon and if you have any of them I’d love to hear your opinion.

pagans in the promised land
1. Pagans in the Promised Land: Decoding the Doctrine of Christian Discovery by Steven Newcomb
I first heard of Steven Newcomb and his book when I watch his speech at the 2016 Parliament of Worlds Religions. His book provides “analysis of how religious bias shaped U.S. federal Indian law”. This is content that so many Americans have no knowledge of and something we all should be aware of.
http://www.amazon.com/Pagans-Promised-Land-Christian-Discovery/dp/1555916422

happy vegan
2. The Happy Vegan; A Guide to Living a Long, Healthy, and Successful Life by Russell Simmons and Chris Morrow
I heard about this book when Russell appeared on the Wendy Williams show. I never knew that he was a vegan who practices yoga and meditation daily. He’s an engaging, dynamic speaker, who is well informed and not afraid to be blunt and in your face real about the situation of how unsustainable agricultural livestock is and what the food industry is doing to our planet. He has other books besides this one that I might want to check out as well.
http://www.amazon.com/Happy-Vegan-Living-Healthy-Successful/dp/1592409326/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1455287903&sr=8-1&keywords=happy+vegan

plantpower way
3. The Plantpower Way: Whole Food Plant-Based Recipes and Guidance for the Whole Family by Rich Roll and Julie Piatt
I came across Rich when one of his videos popped up on my Recommended List on YouTube. This guy has an amazing story… a vegan, ex-addict, ultra-distance athlete, husband and father who has an amazing podcast where he shares information on a vast array of health and wellness topics I’m excited to learn more about. This book that he wrote with his chef-wife, Julie, is said to have 120 vegan recipes and is one that I want to add to my growing library. I’m not vegan yet, but it’s my ultimate end game, and I want to know what else this book has to offer to aid me on my journey.
http://www.amazon.com/Plantpower-Way-Plant-Based-Recipes-Guidance/dp/1583335870/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1455288079&sr=8-1&keywords=Rich+Roll

foundations of the temple
4. Foundations of the Temple by Christopher Penczak
Yes, believe it or not, there are some books by my teacher and friend that I don’t have yet! 😉
Amazon’s description of the book reads, “build the foundation of a strong magickal practice, walking both the path of the solitary practitioner on the sorcerous road, and near to others in community, upon their own roads, for we embrace the paradox that a Witch is never alone, yet is always alone. In this book, Christopher Penczak shares through the powers of the head, hands, and heart, opening the doors to the Temple of Witchcraft community and magickal order he helped to found.”
I’m really intrigued to read this book. I am passionate about all of Christopher’s work, and I’m certain that there’s going to be some seriously good information that is going to further deepen my understanding of my practice.
http://www.amazon.com/Foundations-Temple-Christopher-Penczak/dp/1940755018/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1455288351&sr=8-10&keywords=Christopher+Penczak

northern mythology
5. Dictionary of Northern Mythology by Rudolph Simek
Not sure where I heard about this book, but if I had to guess it was probably from Coco, the Scary Librarian on YouTube since she is the one person I subscribe to that focuses on the Norse Pantheon. This is a scholarly volume, which is what interested me since I’m looking for something a little more researched based for a reference book. It covers a broad range of time, from 1500 BC to 1000 AD, but I’m really wanting to see how it’s set up. Like all the books on this list, I haven’t actually held any of them in my hands so that could make a determination on whether or not I would actually purchase them.
Looking it up on Amazon brought up some other additional titles that looked interesting for future browsing as well!
http://www.amazon.com/Dictionary-Northern-Mythology-Rudolf-Simek/dp/0859915131/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1455288861&sr=8-1&keywords=dictionary+of+northern+mythology

 

 

Heart of the Witchs Path YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNFiMg7JNvy2wIywW-OEAHw

 

 

 

 

 

