Tags

,

products-goodbye

I don’t regret the decision to go Cruelty Free last year, but doing so was really eye opening about how much I was buying from companies that test on animals. Some of the revelations were a tough pill to swallow because the products were ones that I’d used for years and many were Health and Beauty products that took a lot of trail and error to find because I tend to have sensitive skin.

I had a bin full of empties that I thought about doing a video on, but I decided that I didn’t want to do an entire video where I only said I wasn’t using them anymore. Instead, I thought I would do a post to show pictures. I felt that it would be a good place to share my thoughts and to say goodbye to these products I won’t be purchasing anymore.

I made it easy for myself by grouping the empties into categories.

 

20160715_145949

I like to switch up the brands of shampoo and conditioner on a regular basis so I get less build up. I have fine, straight hair and need all the help I can get for volume. Suave products were a brand that I would come back to often because they worked well for me and the price point was so reasonable.

As for body wash, I love anything that smells good and Dove was a pretty popular brand.

 

20160715_150055

Ohhhh man… I think I have like 10 different colors of the Maybelline Color Tattoo shadows. These types of products are so easy to use because you can dip your finger in and not deal with brushes if you don’t want to. Luckily I found that e.l.f. has their own version of them even though there are limited colors.

Also, I am a lip balm fiend! I mean, I have a serious problem! EOS and Chapstick were favs, along with Burts Bees, which will be the only brand of the three that I will continue to purchase. That is, after I finish using up what I have!

I was a big fan of the Revlon Lip Butters, too. Thankfully many Cruelty Free companies like NYX have gotten on the band wagon and have their own butters that are just as good, if not better, in my opinion.

 

20160715_150021

These were the hardest products to say goodbye to. Olay was my go-to company for skin care because my face can be really sensitive and the Olay Complete All Day Moisturizer was something that I had used for sooooo long. My stomach dropped when I learned that Olay isn’t Cruelty Free and it was almost a deal breaker because I was terrified that my face would freak out again. A friend told me about the Mario Badescu line and that’s been a new favorite, along with the new skin care line from e.l.f.

I’m still working my way through other products that I won’t repurchase and the reason I’ve chosen to do so is because I’ve already spent the money, therefore the damage is already done. Now that I’m educated and have rules in place for which companies I’m willing to purchase from, I know that I will never again support companies that test on animals.

If you’re interested in more posts like this one let me know. The Roomie and I are pretty much switched over to companies we feel good supporting and I would be more than happy to share what we’ve learned.

Now all these empties can go in the recycling bin!

 

 

Lastly, I thought I would share something awesome that came in the mail today… my certificate of completion of Witchcraft 4 from the Temple of Witchcraft!!! What an amazing sense of achievement this piece of paper holds! A years worth of hard work and learning. It’s going to be really hard to wait until January for Witchcraft 5 to start!

 

W4-cert

 

 

Heart of the Witchs Path YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNFiMg7JNvy2wIywW-OEAHw

