Tags

,

ltowvol2

Hey guys! Hope your week is great so far!

I thought I would share with you a bit of the homework that I’m working on this month for my Temple of Witchcraft class. In the reading for class, Christopher talks about how our relationships with ourselves are our first and longest of our lives. There are two parts to this exercise, but both are designed to help you get to know yourself better. It’s simple in its instruction, but for me the first part has been a bit on the hard side to carry out. I think it has to do with the fact that I’m not one to stroke my own feathers.

Here’s the exercise: finish this sentence… ‘I am…’

Here’s my list so far:

A woman

A witch

A citizen

Bisexual

Not silent

A vegetarian

A writer

An example

A teacher

An activist

A fighter/warrior

An environmentalist

A consciences consumer

Forever a student

The second part of the exercise is to make a similar list of how others see you. You can either make the list yourself or actually ask those closest to you. I decided to ask some of my coven sisters and the Roomie. Here’s that list:

Annoying

Obnoxious

Loyal

Interested

Funny

Powerful

Dedicated

Exuberant

Organized

*****Okay, I have to admit that the first two are actually my words. I started the list on my own and felt that all I was doing was coming up with ‘negative’ options, so I stopped and went to others instead.*****

I think what really stands out for me when I’m looking at these two lists is that my list reads like a catalog of labels, while the second list is more adjective in nature. I will admit that some of things on the second list were very surprising for me to hear, like ‘organized’, because that is a trait that I didn’t really have and worded hard to cultivate and it felt good to have that recognized. Still others were gratifying to hear, like being ‘loyal’, because those are traits I know to be true about myself and it was a special validation to have someone else say it, too.

I think that this exercise is a good one for anybody. It sounds like something a therapist might have a client do, but I see how it can be helpful. I wanted to share to see if anyone out there was interested in giving it a shot. If you do, then I’d love to see your list so please share it.

That’s going to be it for this week. Thanks for walking the Path for a little while with me and until next time… Blessed Be!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Heart of the Witchs Path YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNFiMg7JNvy2wIywW-OEAHw

 

PodOmatic site for podcasts:

http://heartofthewitchspath.podomatic.com

 

iTunes site for podcasts:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/heart-of-the-witchs-path/id1141474394

 

