Tags

,

20170404_210819

 

Part of an assignment during the first seven weeks of my Witchcraft 5 class was to obtain and start to use a set of mala beads. I knew what mala beads were before that lesson, but I didn’t know how they were used and I found the idea to be a useful and I was excited to add them to my practice.

If you’re a reader of the blog, then you know that I am a crafter and one thing I like to do is make jewelry. That being said, it was natural for me to say to myself, hey, I’m going to make my own mala set! I did some YouTube searching to learn about the process on how to make them and found a really great DIY video that was incredibly helpful. I’ll link it below:

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZVU7753DGY&t=760s

 

Then came the best part… shopping for supplies! I usually gravitate toward natural stone beads for my projects, but for some reason that didn’t feel right for this project. When I was at a Michael’s store prior to learning about this homework exercise, I had seen some really cool wooden beads that were carved in flower designs that I liked. I hadn’t bought them at the time because I didn’t have a use for them, but they were the first thing I thought of to use for a mala set. Alas, when I went back to buy them, there had been a big sale and the ones I’d liked were all sold out. Time for plan B.

 

20170404_210911

 

After doing some more looking, I found these cocoa beads that spoke to me. I had this feeling that I wanted my mala set to be really neutral looking. No flashy colors. No bling. I wanted them to be comfortable in my hands, like an extension of my fingers. I liked how the beads had a similar design on the hank, but had subtle hue variances. I was also happy to find that these beads came in two sizes, so I could have my Mountain bead match the rest of the set. The main beads are 8mm and the Mountain bead is 15mm.

 

20170404_210904

 

Mala bead sets can be a little as 9 beads and a large as 108. If I remember correctly, the bead count needs to be divisible by 9. At first, I was thinking of going somewhere in the middle, but then I decided, what the heck, go big or go home, right!? I went with 108. As for string, I was worried about thickness and decided to go with a natural looking one. In hindsight, I had to knot my string multiple times to keep the beads from slipping through, so I could have gone with a thicker one. But that’s okay, I still love my set.

Even with the extra knotting, I was surprised by how quickly I was able to complete my set. I pretty much followed the directions in the video I’d found, including gluing all my end knots.

I’ve had my set for a few months now and I really like it. It’s not perfect. Some of the knots are wonky looking and my spacing could have been better, but that’s okay. It’s for me and sometimes I’m wonky looking and my spaces are uneven. I find comfort in the unperfectness of it.

If you’ve made your own mala, I’d love to hear about it or see pictures. Hope you have a great week and thanks for walking the Path for a little while with me. And until next time… Blessed Be!

 

20170404_210843

 

 

 

 

Heart of the Witchs Path YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNFiMg7JNvy2wIywW-OEAHw

 

PodOmatic site for podcasts:

http://heartofthewitchspath.podomatic.com

 

iTunes site for podcasts:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/heart-of-the-witchs-path/id1141474394

 

Heart of the Witchs Path Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/heartofthewitchspath/

 

 

